Saturday, August 29, 2009

Pass interference

On Miami's lone possession in the 1st quarter, Brian Hartline made a terrific over-the-shoulder catch for a 39 yard gain...but it was negated because of the seldom-called offensive pass interference.
 
The rule is clear: if a receiver extends his arm in an effort to separate from the defender, it should be called [unless you are a premiere wideout or play for the Patriots a/k/a the "Randy Moss Exception"].
 
Hartline did extend his arm fully, so it was the correct call - even though it hurt to see them lose that first down.
 
It does show that Hartline has a lot of promise...
Like This Article ? :