Tuesday, October 28, 2008

correction on the out of bounds play

Regarding the play I described earlier where Jason Allen touched the ball as it went out of bounds, we looked up the rule.

The rule does specifically state that if a kicking team player goes out of bounds and is the first to touch a live ball inside the 5 yard line, the result will be a touchback.

So, Dick Jauron must have realized he could have the ball at the 20 instead of the 2 if the replay showed that Allen touched the ball.

In that case, it was likely worth a challenge.

No comments:

Post a Comment