Sunday, October 08, 2006

Rules, shmules

New England faced a 3rd and 8 from the Phins 22 with about 10 minutes left. The score was still 13-10, Pats.

Brady throws long to Gabriel at the goal line on the right side of the field. Will Allen has the coverage. It appears as though Allen is in good position. The ball goes beyond them both. Then, in comes the flag.

Allen is flagged for pass interference.

And this call was simply wrong, in spite of what Dierdorf or anyone else will tell you. And here's why: Allen turned his head to look for the ball. And more importantly, he was not touching Gabriel in any way. Yet, Gabriel had his arm around Allen's mid-section, in an apparent effort to stop Allen from getting away, or possibly to push off.

I'm going to try and find a screen shot to share on this one, because the referees were just wrong. It should have been pass interference on the Patriots.
Like This Article ? :